Sibelius’ 5th Symphony with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra – Thursday May 30

Grieg – Peer Gynt Suite No. 1
Mozart – Clarinet Concerto
Sibelius – Symphony No.5
Matthew Coorey – Conductor
Katherine Lacy – Clarinet
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Join the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and conductor Matthew Coorey for a concert full of lyrical orchestral favourites, beginning with sounds of sunrise, birdsong and a spring-like optimism in Grieg’s Peer Gynt.

We are also pleased to present the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra’s very own Katherine Lacy who will perform Mozart’s ever-popular Clarinet Concerto. Widely considered one of the greatest compositions written for woodwind, it was Mozart’s last major instrumental composition.

In the second half of the concert, Coorey and the Orchestra will perform Sibelius’ Symphony No.5, filled with vivid musical depictions of the natural world from the earth to swans flying through the air. As Sibelius himself wrote in his diary while he was composing the symphony “the melodies are divine!!”

The De La Warr Pavilion, Marina, Bexhill-on-Sea TN40 1DP

Starts 7.30pm. Tickets £19, £28, £35, £44. Box office 01424 229111.
Book online at